Forgiveness

I’m curious what people think about forgiveness. I think this is one of the most important issues in life and probably somewhat debatable.

Do you believe in that good ol’ sayin…”forgive & forget?”

Or are you one of those people that says … “I’ve forgiven but I will never forget.” Well, if you are…how exactly is that possible? Would true, 100% forgiveness, be tied to the idea of forgetting what happened?

Personally, I don’t want to share my thoughts. Not yet at least. I’ll come back and update after I’ve heard a few. Just because I want to hear openly what you really think. So, be honest!

Tags:

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

6 responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. Joy says :

    oops, I commented under the wrong post.
    I don’t know wordpress very well…sorry.

    Great dedication though. You looked radiant. Motherhood suits you Jenet!

  2. Tracy Keck says :

    I have a strong belief about forgiveness. I have quoted a “daily word” about it below. In addition, here is a good one. Forgiveness is giving up hope for a better yesterday. i found your site because my wife had it listed under favorites.

    Sunday, December 13, 2009
    Forgive
    Today, in this moment, I forgive.
    Great joy and satisfaction come from expressing love, compassion and generosity. Since I cannot fully express these qualities while holding resentment against another, I strengthen my spiritual practice through forgiveness.
    I choose to forgive anyone whose actions seemed to cause me pain or fear. I forgive those whom I thought to be adversaries. I forgive family members, friends or coworkers for any perceived failings or mistakes. And I forgive myself. I leave the past where it belongs and create life anew.
    Seeing beyond personality, beyond outward appearance to the true divine spirit within myself and others, I release judgment and forgive. Now I can truly love.

    Whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone.–Mark 11:25

  3. Tracy Keck says :

    As my 2 year old keeps me up, I could not resist posting one more forgiveness related comment. I know it is easier said than done, but…

    Daily Word — Thursday, November 19, 2009

    Pray for Others
    I see all people through the eyes of God.
    I am easily moved to pray for those I hold dear, especially when one is hurting in some way. “I will pray for you” rolls naturally off my tongue. As I pray, I connect with that individual in Spirit and in love.
    It may not come as easily to me to open my heart and pray for those who have treated me or someone else harshly. But I know that every soul deserves the upliftment of prayer. All of us carry a spark of the Christ Light. It is there for me to see if I see as God sees.
    When I release any unforgiving thoughts or hostility, I allow God’s grace and wisdom to pour through me. As I focus on the goodness in all people, I feel deep compassion. In prayer, I help create a space where all are healed, including me.
    Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.–Matthew 5:44

    • jenetsimmons says :

      Tracy,

      I love that you found the blog! Forgiveness is such a touchy issue. You can see it in people all around you. I just think, how different life would be if this were an act that people practiced. I think we’d see more joy, less anger/hostility.

      I love the daily words. This was my favorite line:

      “When I release any unforgiving thoughts or hostility, I allow God’s grace and wisdom to pour through me. “

  4. Tracy Goble says :

    Hi J!
    Forgive and forget? We all have brains and memories…however, I think when we forgive, the memories soften of the situation. And when we work through the pain of the infliction, we can frame the pain differently. We forgive so we don’t carry bitterness and healing can begin between people. I may always remember the problem I had to forgive, but when I forgive God gives me the grace to see the person in a new way…hurting, working out of their own pain, and maybe they were not even conscious of what they did. Perhaps I might even see how I added to the problem (if I did!) Forgiveness allows me to put it behind me and move forward. Forget? Maybe…and then maybe God will allow me to remember so i can understand His amazing grace even better!

    • jenetsimmons says :

      Thanks Tracy! I appreciate your words. Hopefully they’ll be an encouragement as others read this post. I do agree with you. God does give us the grace to look at the person in a new way when we have forgiven them. I’ve even found that most people doesn’t know when they are being offensive to others!

Leave a Reply

