And then there’s Julie…

I was trying to keep Carter busy while we waited for my name to be called. “Look at the fishies, Cart. Oh, look over here at the pretty water fountain.” (he was impressed)

“Sorry if this beeps”, says Julie.

That’s all she needed to say. OK, before I tell the rest of this story, here is something you should know about me. If you make eye contact or speak a few words to me, I would love nothing more than to begin a deep conversation with you or anybody. (It’s like only getting one bite of creme brulee…you’ve got to give me more!)Yes, strangers included. At the end of that convo, I’ll either have told you a good amount of my life or vice versa. That’s just who I am. No changing is needed here. Sometimes I wonder if that makes the job of our server at a local restaurant a little more difficult. Maybe it just makes it a little harder on my husband. Patient William. Many times we leave places and I’ll ask him, “do you think I should have talked to her a little more about yada yada? Maybe we should go back.” William says, “J, let’s go home.”

… back to the story …

“Sorry if this beeps”, says Julie. (she’s holding up a gadget to her chest which is hooked up to a smaller machine.)

“No problem. What are you doing there?” (me)

Julie explains that since 6th grade, her heart stops for a period of time throughout her daily activities. Julie is 23 now, graduating from ASU with a business management degree. Originally decended from Minnesota with the cutest freckles I’ve seen today!

So, Julie has to have her heart monitored by this machine all day. Every week she has to “call in” her reports. Which means, she hooks up her machine to a land line and it sends the reports to … (somewhere). Her doctors are monitoring her for six months to decide if she needs to have a pacemaker put in.

“Wow, Julie! You are just amazing.” Now, I want you to know, throughout her telling me her story and my 39 questions, she had the widest smile on her face and she was just so joyful!

In Julie’s words … “if you’re going to have something medically wrong, it’s best to have something wrong with your heart.”

ahem, “what?”

Julie: “ya, I’ve seen medical technology in the past 10 years and how far it’s come. So, why not have something wrong with your heart?! They know so much about the heart. Listen, if they need to replace my heart then great. They’ll take it out and stick a new one in. Done!”

So, I say to her, “Julie, isn’t it amazing how we were all created in the image of God? And since we were, it’s like he designed each trial we go through so perfectly…down to the last little detail. He knows us so well and knows what we can handle. No matter what, at the end of the day, the lord is good.” I went on to tell her, “well, at least that’s what I think.”

“I think the same thing”, Julie said.

I told her this as an encouragement because going through medical trials are beyond difficult for me. Walking with some of my dearest friends through cancer right now just breaks my heart and brings me to my knees in prayer. (What other choice do we have?!)

As I look at others I see very clearly what the Lord has spared me from. I feel like if we take a minute to look around most of us would see how easy our lives are. Instead of worrying about what we don’t have, do you best to be content.

So, Carter is now flirting with all the girls working behind the counter. Julie comes back before she’s off to ASU and we talk about God a little more, and a little about church. “See ya later” Julie says.

“OK bye! Wishing you the best!” Julie turns back around, “Maybe I’ll see you at church.” You’re always welcome, Julie.

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Tags: ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

One response to “And then there’s Julie…”

  1. Lisa says :

    Aaaaawwee! Great post! You know I love the everyday stuff of life…and your openness too! You should come volunteer at Sola sometime…it’s my favorite place to talk to strangers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

