Marriage Monday

We all have different gifts, different passions we bring to the table. In our marriage, the gifts & passions William & I have can be great for us as long as we work on it.

Similarily, we both have a passion to develop a rock solid marriage. We work hard on our marriage and we love to be married to one another. From it we’ve seen the blessings we are for each other. For us, we believe it’s important to put forth effort into your spouse. With that being said, we’ve decided to dedicate Mondays to writing a small tidbit on something in our marriage that works (or doesn’t work) for us.

Let me preface with this. When asked for advice, I get a little nervous. I know my words have weight and the last thing I would want to do is hurt somebody needing help. So, I promise to be honest as long as you promise to take our advice with some salt because, remember this: We’ve been married 3 1/2 years. We don’t know everything but we know a few things really well! We’re only 29 & 30 so don’t expect too much wisdom. Now that my disclaimer is over, let’s start with this week’s Marriage Monday.

Less Gripe = More Joy

Give your spouse the gift today of not complaining. Sounds easy, right? Try it. Try to go for one day, then two days, and so on. That is one of the best gifts I can give to William.

When I see dirty socks on the floor I do one of two things. Pick them up and put them in the laundry room or think to myself, I’m going to leave ’em there and let them pile up until he gets them! The latter approach is a moment when I’ve got to put it in perspective! So, here’s what I do. I remember, William starts work at 5am and goes until 5-7pm. HMMM…I think I can handle the socks going to the laundry room and not gripe about it to him.

On the flip side, when toys are scattered everywhere it irritates me. I’m not a mom who wants every room of my home to be a play room. So I have an organization system. The systems fails on days when I’m exhausted. When the toys everywhere starts to bug me, William either picks them up himself without being asked or he asks me if we could try to pick them up together. The thing that I like about his approach is that he’s really kind when he asks me.

Leave a comment if you will. I’m curious to know if we’re the only ones who work on “Less Gripe = More Joy”

Tags:

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

6 responses to “Marriage Monday”

  1. Becki says :

    Thank you so very much for this. It just really resonated with me today. We just moved cross country, and today was my husband’s first day back at work after 6 months of unemployment. We’re struggling a bit with all the ways in which this move is affecting our family, and the end result is small gripes that become a lot bigger. I think God used you to talk to me today.

    • jenetsimmons says :

      Becki, I am so excited that you’re encouraged today! We need a support network around us for harder times, just like you’re in now! Wishing you the best through the move!

  2. capribythelake says :

    This was wonderful, and so true! It’s so important to unselfishly look at the situation, and putting yourself in their shoes is the perfect way to do that!

    We have seriously read each others mind because I was totally going to start a “monday marriage” post! HA! The only thing that stopped me was that I was approached on joining a team blog about marriage. Maybe if I do it I’ll just link up in your comment section. 🙂

    • jenetsimmons says :

      Carrington! That is so funny! I want to hear more about the marriage blog. YES-Team up in my comment section and add to my monday posts. I’d love to hear and for readers to hear if you have a different way of doing something! Awesome!!!

  3. Erika says :

    I love it that you are doing this and I am excited to read your tidbits of wisdom each Monday! Was so good seeing you this past weekend and we need to make sure those visits aren’t so few and far between! 🙂

Leave a Reply

