Marriage Monday

I’ll be your best friend IF ….

Remember when we used to say that to get our way? Those were the days of being young & nieve.

On this marriage monday, I want to talk about making your spouse your best friend. By all means, yes, I do consider William by best friend. He knows me deeply and understands who I am. He loves and protects me as his wife and is thankful for me. We are committed to one another and are happy with each other. We want to encourage each other in our dreams as a family and as individuals. I love living life with my husband. He will always be my best friend.

However, I have another best friend, Tracy S. Tracy knows me well and we talk about different things together. She’s who I go to when I need to bounce ideas off of, or need encouragement when I’m overwhelmed, or talking about anything that has to do with babies. Tracy is an amazing listener and will be quick to help. We encourage one another in loving and praying for our husbands and our baby boys.

In my 3.5 years of marriage (& 2 years of dating), I know the best recipe of which best friend I reach out to for different issues. Early in our marriage, I realized when I tried to make William fill every role in my life, I was draining him. Therefore he didn’t have anything left when it came time to actually be my husband.

My husband is not my mall shopping friend or pedicure pal. My best friend Tracy fills that role.

Tracy is not someone who I am going to plan my son’s future with. William is.

What I’m trying to say, ladies, is I really encourage you to remember your girlfriends. Girlfriends are so important for us. They can help us be better women, better for ourselves & family. Allow your husband to be your husband and make some time for friends. You’ll soon see that blessing of friendship.

Tags:

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

One response to “Marriage Monday”

  1. Susie says :

    Amen, Jenet, don’t forget your girlfriends!!!!!! Very good advise!!! I remember giving this advise at Kristin’s wedding shower don’t forget your girlfriends.

Leave a Reply

