1 Year Old!

Happy first birthday, Carter William!

I’m in denial that my baby boy is a year old. I’m in denial that 365 days have passed since the most amazing day of our life. I’m shocked that life is happenning this fast!

What a gift Carter has been to his mommy & daddy, his grandparents, aunts & uncles, & cousins! He’s brought us joy through his uncontrollable laughter. He’s made us giggle when we’ve tried to discipline him. He’s united my family a little bit more in ways I never would have thought of.  I’m in awe of how amazing our God is. I’m in awe that the Lord could use a little baby to spread God’s love to family, friends, and strangers.

Speaking of God’s love, today seems appropriate for me to share a very personal story. Some of you may have heard me call Carter a “miracle baby.” I don’t say that lightly and here’s why. When William I decided to “pull the plug”, I consulted my obgyn, per the doctors advice. He flatly told me that there was a very little chance of becoming pregnant. (due to reasons I won’t get into right now.) He told me my best chance was beginning fertility treatments immediatley and then toss that up to chance. Well, as heartbreaking as that can sound to a woman who’s dream in life was to be a wife & mom, I felt the Lord’s peace upon me. I thanked him for his time and told him instead of fertility drugs, I’ll take time to pray. (Doc chuckled.) So, I talked to Will and we both knew drugs were not the route we wanted to go. So, we prayed. I think Will can attest to my struggle during that time of realizing that our plans don’t work out in life, but the Lord’s will be done. I even remember getting to such a peaceful place that if this isn’t His will for us, then I’ll be ok. Well, truth be told, I did become pregnant 5 months later. We had a super healthy pregnancy, an amazing delivery, & a perfect baby.

Oh ya, for those of you who want to know what the doctor thought…It went something like this:

  • Jenet walks into his office with lots of sass.
  • Doctor is suprised to confirm the pregnancy.
  • Jenet says, “See! I told you that prayer worked!”

Carter you are already such an amazing little boy. You have 8 teeth, lots of hair, a killer smile, you love to dance, you love to eat, you are defanitley your fathers son. You’re a rough & tough boy when throwing toys, driving your trucks around, and playing tug and war with Colton. We are so thankful for you. We pray daily that you’ll grow to be a man of God. We pray that you will use the gifts and talents He’s given you to bless the name of Christ.

Often, your daddy will say to me, “Can you believe we have a child?!” I think Daddy is pleasantly suprised at how much he’s fallen in love with you. Even though Mommy always knew she wanted to be your mommy, Daddy never dreamed about being a daddy. Now, neither of us can picture our life without you.

So, to all who are wanting to ask the million dollar question: “are you going to have another baby?” Our response is two fold: 1. We are so content right now. 2. We will pray and follow where the Lord leads our family.

Tags: , ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

8 responses to “1 Year Old!”

  1. amy says :

    Happy Birthday, Carter! We love you! You and your mommy and daddy bring SO much joy to our lives!!!

  2. mode20100 says :

    A+ would read again

  3. Jess says :

    Oh I LOVE this post 🙂 I was tearing up when you were talking about him being your miracle baby, because what you wrote out was basically the same conversation Luke and I had with my doctor when we were trying and trying to get pregnant. I think that sometimes God just has different timing than we do and as far as doctors can tell we ‘shouldn’t’ be able to get pregnant on our own. I LOVE how God works to create our families in HIS perfect timing. Can you believe these boys are 1 already??? Luke keeps saying ‘the next time we blink they will be driving!’

  4. Joy B. says :

    Happy, Happy 1st Birthday CARTER!!!!

  5. Kym says :

    Happy Birthday Carter! You are blessed with a Mommy and Daddy that will guide you and take you down a path filled with happiness, joy and love! Not only are you a “miracle baby” but your mom is a “miracle mommy” who does wonderous things! I love her tons! ~XOXOXOXO Kym

  6. Lisa says :

    After all the mushy love stuff about the sweet birthday boy…my second favorite part of this post is, “Jenet walks into his office with lot’s of sass!” I can picture it! 🙂
    God is SO good! Carter is such a gift! You and Will are blessed!

  7. Kaarin Puhala says :

    Awesome post.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Summer 2010 « Simmons Says… - October 5, 2010

Leave a Reply

