Marriage Monday – Grace

The idea of grace has been on my mind and slightly bit of a theme lately.

There were 8 definitions for grace. Here’s a few I thought appropriate in marriage.

Grace:

  • a temporary exemption
  • disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemency
  • a special favor

Yesterday I was asked to give advice at a baby shower for the new mom-to-be. I wrote quite a few things down and ended with encouraging her to give her husband and herself grace in the midst of a newborn.

In our marriage the best thing I can give William is grace when I expect something that doesn’t happen.

I think there’s wisdom in looking at a situation that may not have turned out like you expected and give the other person grace.

So…in my life, when I give grace to William, it looks like me shutting my mouth and not talking. In other words I choose not to remind him when something’s not done (or done my way) in my opinion.

As scripture says, “God opposses the proud; but give grace to the humble.”

Tags:

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

Leave a Reply

