Our Proud Moment

Carter is a goofy child. I love seeing his personality develop as he gets older and is more aware of people and his surroundings. He’s full of laughter and joy. He’d do just about anything to get a laugh out of us. So, when he got serious, I got proud.

His usual bedtime routine ends with Will & I tucking him into bed. Grabs Swingsley at the nuck, cuddled into his face, tucked into C’s arm. (so cute)…check.

A blankie wrapped snug around him…check.

We tell him something sweet and loving…check.

Say his bedtime prayers …

Monday night, I told him we were going to pray to Jesus. Then I asked him what we should pray about. (which I never do, so I’m not sure what the prompting was.) He threw his head down and folded his hands; ready for prayer. And this, was our proud moment.

We said our prayers & blew kisses on the way out…check.

Cartie boy is one and half years old (19 mo’s). Here’s what this has taught me. (And, if you know me at all, you know I’ve been thinking about this the past 2 days so don’t be surprised at my analization.)

Children watch. That’s how they learn. Children can read people and moods. Even being this young, they get it! He’s only a year old and he can sense moods from people around him. I guess the reason this hits me so hard is because I know people think kiddos are nieve. Maybe for a small while they are. But it doesn’t last long. 

I know he doesn’t understand the concept of God but, he is watching every action that happens in our home. How Mommy treats Daddy, how Daddy leads our family, how we react to situations…etc. I could go on.

It’s encouraging to me as a mom. This knowledge holds me at such a high level of accountability. It reminds me to constantly be aware of who this little man is going to grow up watching and that makes me want to be more Godly in my discipline, interactions with my husband, & honoring to others.

It also has a teaching element. You don’t have to pinpoint every little things to people as you’re trying to teach them. Let them learn by watching you. I hope this encourages you!

Tags: , ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

Leave a Reply

