William’s Condition

How do I start to write about my husband laying in a cold hospital room on a medicated-coma? I guess, that’s how. Let me start over…

If you believe in the name of Christ, pray with us through these verses:

“Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him because he knows my name. When he calls to me, I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalms 91:14-16

Claiming Jesus as his Savior is what Will does best. I am standing in the truth of God knowing He, the might miracle physician Christ, will deliver him through this battle. God will protect William because he knows His name. William calls onto Him and He, God, answers. He’s been with us always, trouble or not. I know God will rescue and William will honor his name. That’s why we’re praying this verse for my husband.

My prayer is that he’s restored in a miraculous way and for those, who don’t know the Lord and believe that Christ died so we can be saved, will see Christ’s miraculous power. He is our healer, our physician, our counselor, and comforter.

The 911 call this morning did not shock God. He was not moved off His throne when this happened. He was the calm in my storm. We choose to honor God with our lives, to testify to His name because he is the giver of life. I’ve sat today many times and in my heart asked the Lord, what his plan is. Why does William need to suffer? Who out there needs to see that Christ is real in order for my husband to be healed?

Thank you to our families, friends, nurses, and doctors who have covered us in a blanket of love, prayer, fellowship, and laughter in the waiting room. Feel free to send my your prayer requests; I find myself on my knees and little bit more right now.

How this all happened:

At about 8pm last night, 5-1-11, Will asked me to turn the lights off because he had a headache. We continued to chit chat and watched the news about Bin Laden (thank you, Jesus!).

Midnight, he awoke and started throwing up. I asked him if he was ok, and he said “yes, I’m fine.”

From midnight to 5am, he continued to throw up, and moaned like he was crying in pain. That’s when I started asking him if he had the stomach flu. Felt his head, hot as the sun. Tried to take him temp and get him up to go to the doctor. He was completed disillusioned and couldn’t speak. You could see from his eyes that he didn’t know who I was. Called his Dad and the same thing happened, he couldn’t focus or respond to his Dad. Then we called 911.

Ambulance was there within a couple minutes and they took him to Osborn Hospital. (I’ve never been more thankful for living one minute away from the hospital).

After the numerous tests, we discovered he has bacterial menangitus which resulted from an undiagnosed sinus infection. The infection became so bad, his brain was becoming attacked. The infection itself is, from what the doctors said, is the worst infection he could have gotten. Which has also produced swelling in his brain.

We are hoping and praying the drugs will remove the infection which will reduce the swelling to his brain. We are praying for a miracle. We are praying for no damaging side effects.

Please understand, my main priorities right now and if I can’t speak to you personally, I’m sorry. I’m truly thankful for you and your love. It’s my hope that you know Christ as your Savior. Because, if this happened to you, how do you respond? I say that with immense love.

*Thank you for the text messages and bible verses, they are a huge encouragement to me. Please sign your name at the end of the text because I’ve received many and I don’t know who they’re from.

Visitors are now welcome. We’re at Osborn Hospital, ICU, 2nd floor. Please restrain from coming if you’re the slighest ill.

Tags: , ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

26 responses to “William’s Condition”

  1. Amy Moller says :

    Blessings to you Jenet! Thank you for sharing from the heart. Will is in our prayers as are you and Carter and new one. I hear a strength in your post that I pray will be the case even when it is hard to remember the truths you shared. God’s truth is true even in our darkest moments. Keep your eyes on the Lord Jesus…the storm rages around you…have faith and doubt not.
    Blessings,
    Amy

  2. karina says :

    2 The LORD builds up Jerusalem;
    he gathers the exiles of Israel.
    3 He heals the brokenhearted
    and binds up their wounds.
    4 He determines the number of the stars
    and calls them each by name.
    5 Great is our Lord and mighty in power;
    his understanding has no limit.
    6 The LORD sustains the humble
    but casts the wicked to the ground.

    The Lord is holding your broken heart right now. I will seriously take Carter if you think he will go with me. I can bring you food. I know you have a ton of friends, and this is the time to let people do EVERYTHING for you. Say the word, and I will message your friends on fb and start coordinating food for you, or play dates for carter.
    If I don’t hear from you I will be praying like crazy for you guys.
    We love you,
    Karina and Jeremy

  3. Erin Whitmer says :

    Oh Jenet! Will and your family are in my prayers. I hope he has a speedy recovery. Sometimes God puts us through trials to learn something or teach someone else something- that’s a good perspective. Many people think God is just punishing good people but I don’t think a loving God works like that. He’s helping us to become stronger- his perspective is much greater than ours. You’re amazing- let me know if I can watch Carter for you or bring by any food. Love, me

  4. Heath Taylor says :

    Jenet,

    We in our family and our church love you guys SO MUCH!!! and we are and will continue to pray for you until God delivers you from this momentary affliction.

    Heath, Lisa, Kate, Natalie & Hudson

  5. Carrington Beauchamp says :

    Oh Jenet! Praying so so hard! It’s shocking to see all the classic symptoms- you read them in books, and you never think about the people that actually go through this scary ordeal. Praise the Lord you were able to get him to the hospital right away. I’ll be praying that he gets better super fast, and that he has absolutely no damaging side effects.

    Praying for supernatural strength for you as his wife, and as you have to continue on, and take care of your little man too.

    I’m so proud of you for your faith, and for your testimony, and for your love. God will bless you for it honey. You are amazing.

    xoxoxo LOVE YOU!

  6. verticaljoy says :

    Praying for you and your family.

  7. Erin McFarland says :

    Praying for you and your husband Jenet. Your trust in our Savior is so evident in your words. Prayers for strength, healing, and encouragement sweet sister in Christ. xoxo

  8. Dave Nelson says :

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers, may God put his healing hand on William and remove all the pain and suffering.
    In christ,

    Dave

  9. George Soussou says :

    Dear Jenet, please know that our hearts and prayers are with you and your family. Love you cuz.

  10. K. Hanson says :

    Dear Jenet,
    You and Will and Carter are so much on my mind and in my prayers. I went to the prayer time your church had last night. So many wonderful people lifting you up and loving you and loving the Lord in their response to this. People were showing me the tables Will has built and the things he has done at Sola. It made me think of Tabitha, the lady in the Bible who “was full of good works,” always making things for others, like Will does. Peter prayed and she was restored to health. Another of your friends prayed, reminding us about the soldier who asked Jesus to heal his servant. He said, “Say the word and let my servant be healed.” And I found myself so agreeing with this. Say the word, dear Lord, and let Will be healed!
    There was so much agreeing in prayer last night (and I’m sure today) for Will and for you and for your sons. “I will be with him in trouble. I will rescue him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Let it be, Lord!
    Much love to you, my friend.

  11. Kristie says :

    Jenet… you are so brave and a perfect example of a Godly woman. We love you and are praying constantly for the Lord to heal Will.. We are looking forward to good news today!

  12. Steve & Rita Hungett says :

    Will, Jenet, Carter & family,

    We don’t know you all personally, but thanks to a mutual acquaintance, Kaarin Puhala, we have joined the prayer team for Will & your entire family. Jenet, thank you for posting your thoughts during this most difficult time. Your message rang loud and clear…while we may not understand the hows and whys, God is in control and we MUST have faith in His plan. I know the Obsborne ICU facility well as my wife was there about 5 years ago after suffering a head injury. The doctors & staff are wonderful.

    We will pray for strength, wisdom & peace of mind for all of you and especially for God’s healing power for Will.

    God Bless,
    Steve & Rita Hungett

  13. Steve & Rita Hungett says :

    Jenet, Will, Carter & Baby Simmons on the way,

    We don’t know you personally, but learned of your situation through a mutual acquaintance, Kaarin Puhala. We glad join the prayer team in praying unceasingly for Will’s recovery, for peace of mind and strength for you and the family & for wisdom for the medical staff. I am familiar with Osborne ICU as my wife was there about 5 years ago following a head injury. The doctors & staff are the best.

    Jenet, thank you for taking the time during these difficult hours to post your thoughts. Your message came through loud & clear – when something like this happens, we don’t know the hows or whys, but we do know God is in control and we MUST have persevere in our FAITH, knowing that God has a plan.

    We will continue to pray and invite our Sunday school class prayer chain to join in. The more prayer warriors the better. The power of prayer is enormous.
    God Bless,
    Steve & Rita Hungett

  14. julie bartolini says :

    jenet,
    praying for will and you and the children. i admire your faith and strength but can’t even imagine how diffficult this must be.
    Julie Bartolini

  15. Amy says :

    My dear friend,
    What a testimony this blog entry is to our Mighty God. I pray He continues to give you strength and courage. I pray He gives you immense peace during times of uncertainty. I pray that God would heal Will in a mighty and swift way and that He would be glorified in all of this. We love, love, love all of you.

  16. nana says :

    I am Shannon’s nana and she sent me your blog and asked for prayers. I am sitting here with teas in my eyes–for your suffering but also in total admiration for your great testimonial of your love for our Christ. You are an example of His Love and I will keep you in my humble prayers. Your strength will carry you through this. Blessings, Carol Tierney

  17. karol ann says :

    Jenet,
    my prayers are with you and William…thinking of you and knowing God will bring you through this as only he can. Love you. karol ann

  18. Kayla Lowery says :

    Jenet, Liz just gave me the news and I wanted to let you know that we are thinking of you and praying for and your entire family!
    Many blessings to you!
    Kayla

  19. jason kenders says :

    The Kenders family is praying for healing and comfort for your family in this storm as we praise Jesus for his everlasting love.

    In HIM,
    Jason
    TLT

  20. Tracy Carson says :

    Hi Jenet-

    We are praying for you and lifting you up in this horrible storm. Much love and prayers from our family to yours.
    Tracy

  21. Alexis and Shane says :

    We are praying so hard for you both!
    God’s power will reign supreme over this and Doctors will fall to their knees in AWE of our Lord!
    We Love you!!!
    and are praying!!!

  22. Susie Berger says :

    Oh, Jenet, how I wish I could be with you and Will right now. I know that you have plenty of Love and Support around you!!! Jenet, I have been learning How to be a Different Kind of Wild!!! and am looking forward to a women’s retreat on 5/14/11 at church!!! and part a main part of doing this is and boils down to this “Less of me and more of thee.” John 3:30 He must become greater; I must become less.” ” To be brutally honest, it doesn’t matter what place we find ourselves in right now. Our part is to bring Him glory. The point of our lives is to point to Him. Whatever we are doing God wants to be glorified, because this whole thing is His. It is His movie, His world, His Gift.” He is asking us to come- and then follow. Will we answer the call? Following Christ and living up is radical and different. The difference is a new way to be Wild!!!
    I love you Jenet and Will!!!!!! and all my other family out there!!!!!!!

  23. Scott Saylor says :

    Janet..Unbelievable! I’m praying for you and Will both! He’s a great man and Friend! If there is anything you need let me know! The Lord is with you both! Take care Scott and Katie Saylor..

  24. virginia drackley says :

    We just got the news of William and you all are in our prayers. We can’t walk through your pain, but know however that God continually is bringing thoughts of you to our mind and know whenever He does we are praying that he will grant you his grace and that soon you will be restored to complete recovery, if it be His will. We have put you all on our prayer chains out here in MN. Love you all and hugs Virginia and Bruce Drackley

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Prayer needed « don't ya miss my train - May 2, 2011
  2. prayer update « don't ya miss my train - May 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

