William’s Condition, update

What a day…what a day. What a roller coaster to be on. This morning as Tracy was reading scripture to me from 1 Peter, she asked me what I wanted today. I told her I just needed to see a glimmer of hope. Something that can get me encouraged on my husband’s behalf to get me to the next 5 minutes. Received a phone call today, on the way to the hospital from Bea who said she was there was positive news. That’s the updates I shared with you earlier.

Today we also were joined by Troy, our worship leader. Him, Pastor Heath, myself, and Bea went into his room, closed the door and sang 5 worship songs to him. It was the most beautiful worship I’ve experienced and how true those lyrics rang. I know he heard that music. Will loves worship.

His nurse, Sara, was a gem. She answered my 350 questions and actually helped me have a deeper understanding of all of this. She was with him earlier when they took him off the propaval (medicated-coma). She allowed me & Bea to be in the room this evening when she took him off the sedation again. She prepared me for what would happen.

As she took him off sedation, and he was coming to:

  • We talked to him
  • He raised his eyebrows
  • He opened his eyes and tried so hard to focus
  • He used his forearms to lift his entire upper body
  • He started pulling his knees towards his chest
  • Within a few minutes he could tell his arms were strapped down, which made him fight harder to get up.
This was one of the hardest things to watch and one of the most comforting things. He is fighting for his life. He is fighting for Carter, baby #2, me, and you. I couldn’t have been more scared and thankful in that moment.
Before I go to bed, I’m reading all your sweet emails, all the loving messages poured out. I so appreciated your prayers. Be encouraged by the miracles God is doing as we speak. These are all wonderful things; but we do have a long road ahead of us. Stay on your knees with me and we plead for God’s mercy on my family. We love you all so much. Thank you for visiting, the hugs and kisses, talking to Will. I can’t wait until I get to tell him the outpour of love that’s been happening!
“Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise. Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up.” James 5:13-15
Tags: , , ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

11 responses to “William’s Condition, update”

  1. Gary says :

    I can’t even put to words my feelings Jenet, but know that I love you guys. Your friendship and ministry to me are so appreciated!
    I’m planning to visit tomorrow morning, and to tell Will he owes me a drink! And not the cheap stuff 🙂

  2. karol ann says :

    Jenet,
    praying for you and william…sending all loving thoughts and god’s grace your way. xoxo

  3. Jen Zakaras says :

    Thank you for this post Jenet… so wonderful to hear about this day. I believe that worship service was probably the most heartfelt moment for you and your husband… even if he couldn’t respond at the time. I am so glad you had that experience with God, him and your church. Will continue to pray for you and am thinking of you!

  4. K. Hanson says :

    Dear Jenet –
    Along with so many others, I find you and Will and Carter, and Will’s parents, are on my mind and in my prayers all the time. So glad to hear the encouraging news for William, and of you all surrounding his bed and singing songs of worship. Love is powerful stuff.
    I love the way you are taking life 5 minutes at a time. You are much loved!

  5. Marilyn Myers says :

    Know that you are loved and that you are constantly in our prayers. God is in charge and He is a God of mercy and grace.

  6. Bobby & Debbie Deneke says :

    We are continuing to pray continually and without pause until William’s healing is fully complete. Praying for you and the children too. Our love and thoughts are with you and for you.

  7. Mike Murray says :

    I can’t remember praying so hard for someone. Not an waking hour has gone buy in the last three days that I haven’t thought about and prayed for your family. I am praying for healing, I am praying for your peace Janet and I am praying for Will’s Physicians. We love you guys and we know there are so many more in prayer than even you know. May God be glorified in all this.
    Mike Murray

  8. Cynthia Taylor says :

    From Bill Hybels’ book, TOO BUSY NOT TO PRAY, “I’m praying to the Creator of the world, the King of the univrse, the all-powerful, all-knowing, all-faithful One. I’m praying to you God, who made the mountains and who can move them if necessary. I’m praying to you, the One who has always been faithful to me, who has never let me down no matter how frightened I was or how difficult the situation looked. I’m praying to You, who wants to bear fruit through me, and I am going to trust …Not because of who I am, but because of who You are. You are faithful!” Jenet, I’m so grateful that He calls us to pray so that He can receive glory and honor and praise! I am praising him for his faithfulness to you and asking Him to keep you in the 5 minutes. That is so profound in itself…that He is keeping your mind only on the present. Because He is taking care of you and Will and Carter and baby Simmons. You are precious to me and more precious to our Lord, Jenet. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to pray for you.

  9. Grandma says :

    Yes, I am Grandma to Jen Murray. Amy is a close friend to all of us. Yesterday was the beginning of prayer for us as a family for Will and your whole family as we have just passed this way ourselves and God was merciful.You have blessed my heart through your blog today your faith is so vibrant. Thank you Lord for healing Will. Phil4:4-8,13. Audrey Robinson

  10. Kim Thompson says :

    Jenet,
    You guys are in our prayers. We are praying for a miracle that you will one day be able to share with your sweet boys. God is in control and on the throne and He will be glorified!! We love you guys so much!

  11. jenney says :

    Hi Jenet,

    Please know that you, Will, Carter are constantly and fervently in our thoughts and prayers. The strength you are finding in the Lord has been a blessing to all that know you and all that hear your story. Your faith that God is sovereign is penetrating the hearts of many and in turn spreading the Gospel. We will continue to be in prayer for your family. Here are a few verses that have been vital to me:

    “You keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the LORD GOD is an everlasting rock.” Isaiah 26:3

    “Above all these, put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts , to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly.” Colossians 3:14-16

Leave a Reply

