William’s Condition, update 2

Today for William holds a day of peaceful sleep, sweet dreams…and as I like to think, communion with Jesus. His day was to be woken at 8, 12, & 4. They’re taking him off the propofal to see how he reacts when he gains consciousness. Bea and I just left the room for the 12 waking, and we can see it’s taking his brain longer to process waking up. He just barely opened his eyes, moved his body around a little bit. But, nothing like the fighter I saw yesterday. From my understanding, the longer he’s on propfal, the harder it is to wake up anyways, so I’m hoping that’s why we didn’t see such a good response. I’m only hoping that.

We did get worse news. The strain of bacterial menangitus he has is called streptococcus pneumonai (pneunmococcus). He’s been on 3 antibiotics; a cocktail of drugs of which is supposed to be very good for anyone in this situation. The bad news is that the strain of bacteria he has is rejecting part of the antibiotics that they’re using to kill the bacteria. One of these bacteria alone cannot kill the entire system.

“This just makes a bad situation worse.” (doctor’s words)

Where this puts us: He’s getting a spinal tap today and we should see some of the results. The spinal tap will tell us if the bacteria has increased, decreased, or stayed the same. Then the microbiologist and icu doctor can determine what other drugs they can use to treat him. It’s a possibility that they may use a drug that’s about 10 years old, which comes with side effects. It’s a possibility there is a deeper infection they haven’t discovered yet.

I’m telling you and pleading with you to get on your knees and stay with us in prayer. I’m so numb right now and can’t even process all this information.

I’ll update with spinal tap results asap.

Tags: , ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

23 responses to “William’s Condition, update 2”

  1. Jacki Rowell says :

    Jenet,
    It is so hard for me to put into words how much the news has shocked and saddened me. Since I have heard the news I have been thinking and praying for comfort and peace for you, and strength and healing for William. I just want you to know how much I care and am willing to help out any way I can.

    I know your blogging may be hard, but it helps so much in knowing how he is doing and how to pray for your family. Thank you for keeping us posted on his progress. I’m praying for wisdom on the doctors part and for healing that only God can provide.

    Much love!

    Jacki

  2. Lauren says :

    Oh mommy I’m pulling for you guys

  3. Grandma says :

    Jenet this sounds so familiar going through this with Erick we called it the roller coaster. I called Susan my daughter and she and Mark are praying they will let Jen know . God is right here in so many households hearing our pleas for Will and your little family. God’s wings are sweet coverage we wish we could add our hugs. You are loved by the Father and He is loving you through us. Audrey

  4. Jen Zakaras says :

    Oh Jenet I’m sorry! This roller coaster is so hard… and I will PRAY that they find something to help him.

  5. Jennifer says :

    UGH. I’m so sorry Jenet! I distinctly remember one day; had the call that Erick’s heart was functioning at 30%…they didn’t know what virus had infected Erick’s heart, he had to have morphine shots for pain; I cried in the car, at the gas station, all the way to the hospital…it’s ok to be numb, and it’s ok to cry Big Tears. Just take care of yourself and get as much rest as you can; I know, I know, easy to say. If you don’t mind, I’m going to put a post up on my blog about you guys; the more prayer the better!

  6. Susan Schumpert says :

    I just reread your post with James 5:13-15. I read it and prayed it and read it again. As I looked at it one more time the last sentence jumped off the page. THE PRAYER OF FAITH WILL SAVE THE ONE WHO IS SICK, AND THE LORD WILL RISE HIM UP! I’m claiming that promise from our God who always stands by His word-for Will. And I’m praying that He will give you His supernatural strength, Jenet. God is in this, He has people that you don’t even know way up in Maine and then back down to my Mother in NM praying on your behalf. We hold your family in our hearts and lift you up in our prayers constantly. Susan

  7. Chelsea says :

    Oh Jenet,
    This is bringing tears to my eyes. I can only imagine what your going through. Ben and I are praying for miraculous healing for Will. God is the ultimate healer. You have been so faithful to Christ in the impossible situation he is being glorified by your trial and your reaction to this hard time. We are on our knees in prayer. Christ will sustain you.

    Psalm 55:22
    Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you;he will never let the righteous fall.
    Psalm 18:2
    The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
    Philippians 4:6
    Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God

  8. Deborah says :

    I am a reader and friend of Jen’s (above comment) blog. She posted asking for prayers. Know a stranger in NJ is praying for you and your family.
    The Will of God will never take you where the Grace of God will not protect you.
    Deborah
    FairfieldHouseNJ.com

  9. Bobby & Debbie Deneke says :

    This is a time to fast, no food, only water, and stand stubornly on the Word of God. With every hunger pain – pray, thanking God for preforming His Word that by His stripes, William is healed.

  10. Stacey says :

    Thinking of you and praying for Will every minute of every day. I wish I could do something for you and your family. I hope praying for you is enough. Please let me help you if you need anything. I love you guys.

  11. Wendy Hilkerbaumer says :

    Jenet, I can only imagine how hard this is on you. Will is a fighter, God will carry him through this and you too. I am praying as are a lot of other people. We will keep praying for Will’s healing and then we will offer prayers of Thanksgiving when he is on his way to being healthy once more. It will happen!!

  12. Erica says :

    Just found your link through a friend – covering William and your whole family in prayer. What an amazing testimony of faith. Praying for healing and peace as you walk this out.

  13. Carrington says :

    SO hard Jenet, I can’t imagine your struggle. God is holding him in His hands, he’s got him, and He is Healer just like you said. Praying for good news from the spinal tap, strength for you physically, emotionally and spiritually and supernatural healing that makes the doctors say, “Wow! We can’t believe it!” That’s what I’m asking Jesus for today. xoxox

  14. Carrie Tanner says :

    We are praying also. Is this version contagious?, just wondering if the rest of your family is in any danger as then we can pray for protection against that as well. (Praying for strength for you, for him and your family, praying for peace and comfort, praying for courage and healing, and wisdom for the doctors)! If there is anything else we can do to help please let me know.
    The Tanners

  15. Danielle says :

    In constant prayer for you and your family. For healing, comfort, strength, hope.

  16. bobby and debbie deneke says :

    Jenet, Debbie and I will fast tomorrow for Williams healing. We have always fasted when we were facing a crisis and God has always come through. This is what we are believing for you and William.
    Be encouraged and dig your heels into God’s word and make a declaration to believe His Word for Williams healing even if the report outside of God’s Word says otherwise. It’s what we do, believing. We are believer’s and Faith in God’s Word pleases God.

  17. Bobby & Debbie Deneke says :

    Debbie and I are going to fast tomorrow. Just water. We’re doing this and we’re going to focus our hearts on God’s Word. Every hunger pang will be quickly followed with our constant praying for God to come and heal William. Who with me on this? Let’s rally together and all of us fast for Will’s healing!

  18. Joseph says :

    Jenet-
    Know that we are praying for you and know that God is right there with you and will not leave your side no matter what.
    “Pain is never permanent.” — St. Teresa

  19. Adrienne Urban says :

    My prayers are with you Jenet! I’m so sad about this, and can’t even imagine how you’re feeling. TRUST in Him! All my love is with you guys!

    xoxo

  20. dick and diane says :

    in our thoughts, hearts and prayers…

  21. Micah and Deborah Kirkwood says :

    Will and Jenet,
    We are thinking of you and on our knees praying for you constantly in Denver! Our hearts are saddened to hear of the news, but we are so anxious to hear of the miracle of healing the Lord has done for Will!

    Isaiah 42:16 – “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them. ”

    Love Micah and Debbie Kirkwood

  22. Bobby & Debbie Deneke says :

    Acts 5:16 “Also a multitude gathered from the surrounding cities to Jerusalem, bringing sick people and those who were tormented by unclean spirits, and they were all healed.” NOTE – Even after Jesus had been crucified, rose back to life again, and ascended into heaven, we see the very same work that Jesus performed, while on the earth, still taking place through the hands of His disciples, and with the very same intensity – all being healed. And why not? Hebrews 13:8 tells us that “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever!”
    Hebrews 7:25 Because Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant (verse 22), “Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.” Take a look at this scripture in the Amplified Version: “Therefore He is able also to save to the uttermost (completely, perfectly, finally, and for all time and eternity) those who come to God through Him, since He is always living to make petition to God and intercede with Him and intervene for them.” NOTE – It’s important to remember that the word “save” in the Greek is the word “sozo” which literally means to heal, preserve, save, do well, be (make) whole. It means deliverance in the present as well as in the future or in eternity, physical as well as spiritual. Jesus used this word to denote healing of the body as well as forgiveness of sins. Always translate this word as “save – heal” when you come across it in the Word.
    Matthew 6:9-10 “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on Earth as it is in heaven.” NOTE – Jesus always prays the will of God, and He prays that the will of God be done here on the earth just as it is in heaven. People in heaven are not sick, so we can clearly see it is God’s will that we also be free from sickness and disease.
    Jeremiah 30:17 “For I will restore health unto you, and I will heal you of your wounds, saith the Lord.”

Leave a Reply

