Sabbatical

Sabbatical is defined as taking a rest from two months to a year. Therefore, I saw it fitting to use as the answer to “Where have you been?” That seems to be the question I’ve been asked lately by sweet people who love me. My responce, other than sabbatical, is, home. I’ve been home. I’ve been soaking in each minute with my babies and my loving husband. I’ve been focusing on time with Carter. I’ve been praying through some issues in my heart. I’ve been reevaluating priorities.

I knew at the beginning of the year the Lord was telling me to slow down. And, I listened. I needed lots of quiet time at home. Alone with my precious ones and the Lord. It’s been the sweetest three months. That’s not to say I’ve put locks on my door and did not socialize; untrue. I just went about it differently. More thoughtfully. More purposeful.

To some this will make perfect sense. To others, it’ll sound odd. Phrases like, “spending time with the Lord”, will make someone who doesn’t believe in Christ think the other is a little off kilter. But, I spend time with God because I love Him and have a relationship with the Creator who made you and me. So just as I spend time with my husband and close friends because we have a relationship. I, too, spend time with the Lord.

Then my best friend called and gave me a loving lecture. “It’s time to write again,” she said. She knows how much I love to write. I have a few outlets and this is one. Amidst having a blog, I can be very, very private. She encouraged me to be all God has made me to be regardless of criticism or fear of what some one person may think. I’m taking her advice like taking a bull by the horns! Love you, T!

Making a volcano!

Tot Time – Learning colors, Carter’s way.

Helping Mommy cook!

My Loves 

Perfection: Made by God.

Tags: ,

About jenetsimmons

We are two people that love each other & our sweet baby boy. We love the simplicities in life like sitting outside when the weather is beautiful, going for a drive, snuggling in our jammies. We love our family & friends.

6 responses to “Sabbatical”

  1. Steve Hungett says :

    Thank you for touching base with us all. After all you and your family has been througfh in the last year, it was no surprise to me that you weren’t blogging. I knew in my heart that the Lord had you in His hands and was leading and you were following according to His will. The preciousness (is that a word?) of the time you spend with God, family & friends. My only regret is that when we were at the Thompson’s for Liam’s baptism if your family was there, we didn’t get a chance to meet. There will be another time. Blessings to you all…….in His love, Steve

  2. Marilyn Myers says :

    It’s great to hear from you. I’ve missed you!

  3. Chris Irmer says :

    It is so refreshing to hear you speak of your love for the Lord, your family and friends! You are a beautiful witness for the Lord. I loved seeing the pictures of your family. The boys are growing up so fast. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

